Housed in the Stony Plain’s first Regional High School the Old Brick School was built in 1925. It is a two story building with a hip gable roof and a bell tower and is built from a Scottish Architectural Design. The main floor of the building features the History of Stony Plain and our Settler’s Cabin. The cabin is both for tourists and school programs about pioneer living and is home to artifacts related to early pioneer settler living from farming tools to homestead items.
The second floor has two features; more museum installations and the Wild Rose Library. The Wild Rose Library and Archives are open to visitors as a research and education centre dedicated to building hands on experience with our collections and records. The museum looks at early agriculture, the history of the red brick school house, influencers in Stony Plain such as Cornelia Wood and a look pioneer school life.
Coming in 2018 we are expanding our museum to the Oppertshauser House featuring the 1910 house of the Oppertshauser family. This house has been used for our Art Gallery, a General Store and will now house our newest museum displays. This house is one of the few remaining residences in Stony Plain of a locally prominent pioneer family. It was declared an Alberta Historical Site in 1983 and purchased by the Heritage Agricultural Society in 1985.
Multicultural Heritage Centre Staff & Board