The Old Brick School built in 1925, using Scottish architectural design; it has a hip-gable roof and a bell tower. The school was Stony Plain’s first regional high school and was in full operation until 1949. After extensive renovations and landscaping, the school was reborn as the Multicultural Heritage Centre, a Provincial Historic Site.
Alongside the Multicultural Heritage Centre stands the Oppertshauser House. Built in 1910, it is architecturally unique due to its unusual European style roof. The Oppertshauser House is a Municipal Historic Resource, which interprets the urban aspect of our local heritage in the setting of a well-established Stony Plain family.
The Stony Plain Demonstration Farm was one of six placed throughout Alberta. Running from 1911 to 1924 the demonstration farms would exhibit new farming techniques. The Demonstration Farm continues with this tradition and is an interpretive project, which encompasses the agricultural diversity and history of the area through interpretive landscaping and educational programming.
Subscribe to our mailing list